Attractions Throughout The 2TM Listening Area

Barraba

Horton Falls

Nature lovers can explore the waterfalls, swimming holes and gorges of Horton Falls National Park, near Barraba. There are picnic and barbecue facilities, and several marked tracks for bushwalking.

 

Barraba Silo Mural

Part of the Australian Silo Art Trail Collection, the Barraba Silo Art on Old Manilla Road depicts a local water diviner searching for groundwater and is a must see for those in the area.

 

Adam’s Lookout

Located 5 km north-east of Barraba, Adam’s Lookout offers excellent views over Barraba and is a pleasant place for a picnic.

Split Rock Dam

Camping and recreation facilities, including boat ramps, barbecues and picnic areas. It is a popular location for fishing, boating, swimming and water skiing

Three Creeks Gold Mine
Located at Upper Bingara Road, the Three Creeks Gold Mine describes itself as "a working gold mine with tourism". It offers bushwalks, crystal fossicking, a bush camp site, barbecue facilities and a gift shop.There is also panning and a small museum of mining-related artifacts.

Barraba Visitor Information Centre - 114 Queen St.  Ph: 02 6782 1255

Gunnedah

Screen Shot 2021-08-21 at 8.16.47 pm.png
GunnedahSiloArt.png

Koala Spotting

Gunnedah is home to an ever-increasing Koala population, which gives visitors to the area the opportunity to see these Australian marsupials in their natural habitat.
 

Popular Koala hangouts include the river gums in Anzac Park, Porcupine Lookout, Gunnedah Golf Course, Stock Road walking/cycleway, TAFE Campus, PCYC, and the western end of the Showground area near the Kennel Club grounds. 

 

Poets Drive

Inspired by Gunnedah's iconic landmarks and local heroes, you can spot 17 poems mounted on plaques at various locations around town.

Contact the Gunnedah Visitor Information Centre for a full list of featured works.

 

Dorothea Mackellar Memorial

Dorothea Mackellar lived on a property local to Gunnedah from 1905 until the late 1930s.  Visit the life-sized bronze statue of Dorothea located in South Street opposite the Visitor Information Centre. The “talking rock” nearby tells the story behind the memorial and features Mackellar's voice reciting 'My Country'.

Silo Art
Dorothea Mackellar and an extract from her famous poem "My Country" are immortalized on this 29 metre high, privately owned maize mill in Gunnedah. Established silo artist Heesco completed the artwork via cherry picker at the mill site on Barber Street. There is a perfect viewing platform from the walkway on Gunnedah's new bridge that links the Oxley Highway and Warrabungle Street.

 

Gunnedah Water Tower Museum
Located in Anzac Park on South Street, the museum is housed in an old water tower reservoir. The museum has a large display of memorabilia, artefacts, and archives with four floors and an observation deck. On the outside of the museum are two large murals, painted by Jenny McCracken, commemorating those who served in the Vietnam War. Inside on the second floor is a mural painting which captures the very early Aboriginal and European history of the district. The Bill Clegg Memorial Display, on the ground floor, commemorates the service of Gunnedah and District people in the military conflicts from the Boer Wars through to that in Afghanistan.
 

Keepit Dam

Located northwest of Gunnedah, Keepit is known for its water sports and fishing. Keepit is also home to Tolcumbah Lookout, just south of the dam wall, which provides excellent views of the wall, lake, and surrounding countryside. Entry is free to the dam grounds.

 

Rural Museum

The Rural Museum at Gunnedah is one of Australia’s largest collections of domestic agricultural and transport memorabilia with a display of over 18000 exhibits. A well-stocked Souvenir Gift Shop is located on site and the museum is open every day.

 


Red Chief Memorial
The first memorial to be erected in honour of an Aboriginal historical identity, The 'Red Chief' Memorial is located in Abbott Street, near the front of the NSW Government Offices building in the Gunnedah town centre. 

 

Cumbo Gunnerah, 'The Red Kangaroo' as he was called by his people, was a great warrior and revered leader of the Gunn-e-dar people of the Kamilaroi tribe. He was buried in the late 1700's in a manner befitting an Aboriginal man of great importance - in a sitting position, backed by a tree carved with totemic designs in his honour. The story of his unsurpassed bravery, achievements and adventures were handed down generations and his place of rest treated with much respect. 
 

The remains were dug up by white settlers some two centuries later and sent to the Australian Museum, where they were kept for quite some time. They were eventually returned to the Red Chief Local Aboriginal Land Council in Gunnedah and he is now at rest within the Cumbo Gunn-e-rah Museum in the George Griffith Memorial Building in Gunnedah.
 

Cumbo Gunnerah's story was heard by prolific author Ion Idriess who immortalised his story in the book titled 'The Red Chief'.


Gunnedah Visitor Information Cantre - 83 Chandos Street.  
Ph: 02 6740 2230

Manilla

ManillaParagliding.png

Manilla Heritage Museum.
The museum and adjoining collections in the Rural Machinery Museum and Royce Cottage paint a picture of the development of the Manilla village and its intriguing history. Includes the Pioneer Park, the Yarramanbully schoolhouse, a Chinese Memorial Garden, Henry Burrell's platypusary, and the original house.

 

Manilla Weir

Located on Halls Creek Road, the Manilla Weir is a great place for a picnic, barbecue, or for a spot of fishing.

Manilla Ski Gardens

A favourite place among locals for fishing, bushwalking and camping.
 

Mount Borah Paragliding and Hanggliding

Mount Borah is Australia's only world-class flying site, has vast astroturfed launches for nearly all directions, and offers the highest level of safety for learning to fly


Godfrey's Manilla Paragliding School is the only school in Australia that owns its own mountain, air sports facility building, and serviced cabins and camping facility. The on-site facility also has a pool, bar and free wifi throughout.

Manilla Information Outlet, 197 Manilla Street.  Ph: 02 6785 1207

Murrurundi

WallabadahRock.png
PioneerCottage.png

Burning Mountain
Home to Australia’s only naturally burning coal seam, Burning Mountain Nature Reserve is great for school excursions and is packed with day walks, scenic views, birdwatching, and picnicking opportunities.

The Pioneer Cottage
One of the most interesting of Murrurundi’s many historic buildings is the Pioneer Cottage built in 1989 in Remembrance Park on the New England Highway. 

Rosedale
Located in Little Street and listed by the National Trust, this brick and timber building dates from around 1848. In 1985 it was fully restored and today it is a private home.

Telegraph Station
Located on Mayne Street is the old telegraph office which  built in 1861 and became the local post office in 1870.

Gem Fossicking
The area around Murrurundi is known for agate, naturalite and zeolite crystal, calcite crystals, quartz, petrified wood, and limestone fossils. Ask at the Visitor Information Centre for details of suitable places to fossick.

Wallabadah Rock
Head east on Timor Road, about 3 km from the highway, Scotts Creek Road heads off to the left. About 16 km along Scotts Creek Road is Wallabadah Rock, reputedly the largest monolith in Australia after Uluru. It is the plug of an extinct volcano and is estimated to be around 45.5 million years old.
 

There is no public access as it sits on private property, but you can view it quite well from the road.

Timor Caves
Further along Timor Road is the village of Timor which has an attractive little timber church, St Peters, built in 1883.  Located 5 km from the turnoff are the Timor Caves, a series of unguided limestone caverns which are estimated to be around 73.5 million years old. The caves - known as the Main Cave, Belfry Cave, the Hill Cave - are within walking distance of the road. The Timor Caves are easily accessible but good shoes and a strong, reliable torch are essential

Art Galleries
You can often find Archibald Prize-winning artist, David Darcy working from his gallery and gift shop which is situated in the main street.  

Further along the same street, you will find the Michael Reid Gallery along with the former convict cellblock that was turned over to s concept store and kiosk.


Michael Reid Murrurundi is a significant regional destination for art, food, retail, and a most beautiful garden.

Murrurundi Visitor Information Centre, 113 Mayne Street.  
Ph: 02 6546 6446

Nundle

GoldMine.png
Chaffey.png

Chaffey Dam
Tamworth's main eater supply, Chaffey Dam is a popular spot for swimming, sailing, boating, and fishing activities in the area. Campsites are provided at the Chaffey Dam Camping Reserve and Bowling Alley Point Recreation Reserve with barbecue and toilet facilities.

 

Nundle Woollen Mill

Located in Oakenville Street in the historic village of Nundle, Nundle Woollen Mill is one of the last spinning mills still operating in Australia. Guided tours are available.  The Mill is a heritage attraction that provides an insight into wool processing, pre-computers. They combine a unique, heritage-based, educational experience with a contemporary, innovative retail experience.

 

Mount Misery Gold Mine Museum
Walk through a dis-used mining shaft, where you’ll find tools and machinery, photos, newspaper clippings, and maybe even the ghost of Cranky Jack, who reportedly struck gold but died in the mine before he could cash in. 

Gold Fossicking
Many visitors come to Nundle to fossick or pan for gold and sapphires in the Peel River. You can hire panning equipment at the Mt Misery Mine or the Nundle Country Cafe.

 

Hanging Rock Lookout 

Hanging Rock Lookout is a short 20-minute drive from Nundle, and you can enjoy a picnic nearby at the Log Cabin Picnic Area. The lookout offers spectacular views of the Peel Valley.

Sheba Dams

Located east of Hanging Rock, Sheba Dams is the perfect destination if you’re looking to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. Sheba Dams provides a beautiful backdrop for an afternoon swim, bushwalk, or picnic.

Nundle Information Outlet, 85 Jenkins St.  Ph: 02 6769 3026

Quirindi

QuirindiLookout.png
QuirindiSunflower.png

Quirindi Rural Heritage Village & Museum

Set on 13 acres, just 3kms from Quirindi on the Gunnedah Road, in the heart of the rich farming area, the Liverpool Plains. The village has been designed to collect, preserve, restore, interpret and exhibit artefacts that relate to the history, heritage and culture of the regional area.

Who'd A Thought It Lookout

Who'd A Thought It Lookout offers spectacular 360-degree views from the Great Divide to the Breeza Plains. With a children's playground and tables and chairs for a picnic, a visit to Who'd A Thought It makes for a relaxing afternoon.
 

Bob's Shed
On Ray Carter Drive, halfway up the Who’d A Thought It Lookout, Bob’s shed is the envy of any collector: at the general store you will find boxes and tins from the fabulous 40s and 50s., the Pub is full of beer cans, bottles, coasters and Pub kitsch. Two entire rooms are dedicated to Peter Brock, and there are cars, motorbikes and model cars galore. You need to go more than once to see it all.

 

Quipolly Dam Recreation Area & Bird Hide

The Quipolly Dam Recreation Area has all the ingredients for a lovely family picnic - with playground equipment, BBQ areas, and a picturesque view over New Quipolly Dam. The Bird Hide is located just down the road at Old Quipolly Dam, and is home to a wide variety of Australian animals - not just birds.

 

Who'd A Thought It Lookout

Who'd A Thought It Lookout offers spectacular 360-degree views from the Great Divide to the Breeza Plains. With a children's playground and tables and chairs for a picnic, a visit to Who'd A Thought It makes for a relaxing afternoon.

 

Sunflowers 

The Liverpool Plains is the closest area to Sydney where you can see broad-acre farming. The sunflower crops are very showy when they flower and the crops look absolutely spectacular.

There are two sowing times per year, the first one is in September. Sunflowers planted in September will flower at around Christmas time. The second sowing time is December/January, and they will flower in February/March.

Liverpool Plains Visitor Information Centre - Ph: 02 6747 1226

Tamworth

AdventurePlayground.png
GoldenGuitar.png
SkatePark.png
PowerstationMuseum.png
Playground.png
HandsofFame.png

Tamworth Regional Gallery

The Gallery offers a rotating program of touring exhibitions of national significance, alongside curated exhibitions of works by regional artists
and exhibitions from their permanent collection.

The Gallery houses purpose-built exhibition spaces, conservation collection storage, a retail shop, the Esther Halliday Studio and a research library, and is a fully accessible space.

 

Tamworth Marsupial Park & Adventure Playground

The Marsupial Park is a native animal experience unlike any other in NSW and the 14-hectare park has free entry. Children can get close to kangaroos, wallabies, cockatoos, and emus, spot the species in the free-flight aviary and hand-feed the Indian peacocks. 

Within the Marsupial Park is the community-built Adventure Playground which has two distinct areas: one for under 5s and another for over 5s. There are barbecue facilities and bathrooms.

The Kamilaroi Walking Track links the Marsupial Park, Botanic Garden, Oxley Lookout, and Flagstaff Mountain over a distance of several kilometres.

 

Tamworth Botanical Gardens

The garden aims to conserve the flora of the region. Features include the excellent lookout, the bush chapel, native gardens surrounding the ponds, and the new Asian garden. The gardens also feature an indoor exhibition space with Aboriginal artifacts. There are walking tracks, picnic areas, toilets and the park is wheelchair accessible.

 

The Big Golden Guitar, The Country Music Wax Museum, and The National Guitar Museum

The Big Golden Guitar is a tribute to Tamworth’s rich country music heritage and international reputation as Country Music Capital. The guitar is one of Australia's 'Big' attractions and is A replica of the famous Golden Guitar Award presented to artists at the annual Country Music Awards of Australia.

The Country Music Wax Music is housed within the Big Golden Guitar building and
 features life-sized likenesses of over 20 Australian country music stars and pioneers including Slim Dusty.

Also located within the Big Golden Guitar building is the National Guitar Museum. Featuring more than 45 guitars including Smoky Dawson's original riffle guitar from the 1950s, Brian May's (QUEEN) travelling guitar, Tommy Emmanuel's first Maton guitar, signed Washburton guitar from KISS' Paul Stanley and two customised guitars belonging to Slim Dusty.
 

Plus signed guitars from Keith Urban, Dolly Parton, Brooks & Dunn, Kenny Rogers, The Eagles and many more. 
 

Also on exhibition is Chuck Bradley's Instrumental, an illuminating picture collection of guitars and other instruments from country and rock icons such as Midnight Oil, INXS, Guns 'n' Roses, Troy Cassar-Daley, Archie Roach and more.
 

Tamworth Regional Playground

The only playground of its kind in regional Australia. With activities available for the entire family the playground features a bike track, fitness circuit, rhythm wall, Touchwood Totems, a 3D climbing adventure, slides and a splash park.

Tamworth Regional Skate Park
A state-of-the-art facility unique in the New England North West, and caters to all abilities.

The park includes a modern skate park, "learn to ride" space, lighting, toilet block, and BBQ facilities.

 

Australian Country Music Hall of Fame

Guitar-shaped facility with concert outfits worn by famous musicians, awards & other memorabilia.

Hands of Fame Park
The park honours individuals who have made an ongoing contribution to the Australian country music industry and features over 250 handprints belonging to artists and other industry personalities. New “hands” are added each January during the Tamworth Country Music Festival.
 

Roll of Renown Monument and the Galaxy of Stars

Located on the front lawn of the Tamworth Regional Entertainment and Conference Centre (TRECC), The Roll of Renown Monument commemorates the artists of country music on a series of boulders that were once housed on the grounds of 2TM.

Also located at the (TRECC) The Galaxy of Stars formally recognises the achievements of outstanding country music stars. The Galaxy of Stars plaques are displayed in the forecourt.


Walk A Country Mile Museum
An interactive exhibition that tells the story and inception of Tamworth as the Country Music Capital.  
The permanent exhibition takes visitors on a journey from 1788 through to the 2000s on a timeline that outlines the development of country music in Australia.
 

Powerhouse Motorcycle Museum
The museum houses a private collection of over 50 motorcycles in pristine working order from the 50s, 60s, 70s, and 80s. 

 

Tamworth Powerstation Museum 
In 1888, Tamworth became the first city in Australia to be lit by municipal electric street lighting. This important moment in national and local history is preserved at the Tamworth Powerstation Museum.

The Museum is located on the site where the 1888 steam engines powered the street lighting system, and the 1907 Power Station / Municipal Electric Showroom building has been refurbished to display a range of unique exhibits.

 

Calala Cottage Museum
Calala Cottage was designed and built by Philip Gidley King in 1875. The cottage is furnished with items mainly from the late Victorian period. Displays in the museum range from early aboriginal artifacts through to the establishment of Tamworth as a city.

The shepherd’s hut on-site, is a slab building circa 1840, is Tamworth’s oldest surviving building.

 

Truck Drivers Memorial
The Truck Drivers Memorial commemorates men and women who have been accidentally killed while professional drivers and those who have dedicated their lives to the transport industry. The memorial is one of only four in the country.

Oxley Scenic Lookout
Lookout has views of the city of Tamworth and Peel River Valley.

Bicentennial Park
Situated along the Peel River, the park is home to several bronze statues commemorating country music personalities, along with the Tamworth Waler Memorial, a life-sized bronze 
statue of an Australian Light Horseman trooper standing next to and saying goodbye to his horse.

The park has a fountain with hand-carved rocks and a walking path along the river.
 

John Oxley Memorial Anchor
The anchor commemorates the route taken by John Oxley in his exploration of New South Wales in 1818, and marks the spot where Oxley crossed the Peel River in 1818.


Street Art
Talk a stroll down Peel Street and you will discover an array of Street art including life-sized bronze statues of country music personalities and a tile mosaic commemoration for the Centenary of Federation.

Tamworth Visitor Information Centre, 2 The Ringers Road.  
Ph: 02 6767 5300

Uralla

Thunderbolt.PNG
Wooldridge.PNG
FairyMap.PNG

Thunderbolt’s Grave
Located in Uralla’s Pioneer Cemetery, discover the headstone that was erected by residents of Uralla as a memorial to Captain Thunderbolt. 

 

Thunderbolt's Rock
Originally known as Split Rock, this huge cluster of granite boulders is located 6km south of Uralla on the New England Highway. The rocks were infamously used by Captain Thunderbolt as a vantage point for detecting approaching mail coaches.  

McCrossin's Mill Museum and Thunderbolt Gallery
The museum contains a Thunderbolt exhibition including the table his body was laid out upon. There is also a series of nine paintings titled "The Death of Thunderbolt", a Rocky River Goldfields exhibition, a re-created Chinese joss house which contains the contents of an actual joss house from the mid-19th century goldfields.

Other displays include the Corporal Cecil Stoker exhibition, relating to a local soldier whose possessions were found bricked up in a chimney, and a collection of rustic tools.

New England Brass and Iron Lace Foundry
Located at 6 East Street, the Foundry has been operating since 1872. It was originally developed to produce iron lace for residential and commercial buildings. Since 1983 the Phoenix Foundry has taken over the business, expanded the range, and moved to more modern premises at 44 Duke Street. The foundry is the oldest in Australia

Gostwyck Chapel and Deeragee Shearing Shed
This tiny village is known for the Gostwyck Chapel, a beautiful private church at the end of an avenue of 200 elm trees on the banks of a stream. It was built in 1921.

Visitors can visit the site but are not permitted inside the buildings.

The Deeargee Woolshed sits just over the bridge from Gostwych Chapel.  The  unique octagonal designed woolshed was built in 1872 replacing an earlier shearing shed that had been destroyed by fire.

Dangars Lagoon
Dangars Lagoon Nature Reserve is a wetland haven with over 110 bird species. Historically the lagoon was used by gold miners in the 1850s.  There are picnic facilities and a viewing hutch approached by a screened walkway. 

Dobsons Distillery

A tasting and cocktail bar situated in Kentucky.  The Kentucky turnoff is 13 kilometres from Uralla heading back towards Tamworth .  All spirits are made onsite and tastings are available 7 days per week.

Wooldrige Fossicking Area
Fossick for gold, sapphires, garnets and diamonds.  Bring your own fossicking gear and try your luck.  The Rocky River area to the west of town  can be accessed by heading south on the New England Highway and turning right towards Kingstown.  There are some clearly signposted fossicking sites about 6 km along the road with toilets, barbecues, and picnic areas.

Fairy Doors 
Uralla has experienced an explosion of the local fairy population in the area over the last year. While you're walking through the town, see if you can spot all the fairy doors! There are several to be found down the main street, and many more dotted across the entire township.

Searching for fairies has become a popular activity, involving parents and grandparents and mainly primary school-aged children.  Get your map from the Information centre. 

Uralla Visitor Information Centre, 104 Bridge St.  Ph: 6778 6420

Wallabadah

First Fleet Memorial Gardens
The award-winning First Fleet Memorial Garden is a tribute to the European settlers who began what is now modern Australia. The Garden features extracts from the logs of actual participants describing the early history of the colony and the treacherous voyage to Australia.

Hand-carved tablets, by master stonemason Ray Collins, list the names of passengers, the crew, convicts, and civilians who travelled on the eleven ships of the first fleet.

White Box Plantation
One of the largest undisturbed areas of White Box forest left in Australia is located at the Wallabadah cemetery. It is worth the visit to get a  feel for the country prior to European settlement and as with all cemeteries, every headstone echoes local history.

Tourist Information Centre, Station St, Quirindi - Ph: 02 6746 1096

Werris Creek

Australian Railway Monument and Rail Journeys Museum

A must-see for history buffs, this award-winning monument and museum celebrates Werris Creek, the first railway town in New South Wales, and commemorates the men who lived and died working to build Australia’s railways.

Admission is by gold coin donation.


Tourist Information Centre, Station St, Quirindi - Ph: 02 6746 1096